The International Union of the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology, Division of History of Science and Technology (IUHPST/DHST), invites submissions for the fifth DHST Prize for Young Scholars, to be awarded in 2019 and presented in 2021.

Initiated at the 22nd International Congress of History of Science in 2005 held in Beijing, the DHST Young Scholar Prize is now awarded by the IUHPST/DHST every two years.

Up to three awards for recent Ph.D. historians of science and technology will be awarded to recognize outstanding doctoral dissertations completed and filed between 1 September 2016 and 1 September 2018.

The 2019 DHST Prize does not specify distinct categories, but submissions must be on the history of science or technology in any part of the world.

The Award Committee endeavors to maintain the broadest coverage of subjects, geographical areas, chronology and civilizations (African, American, Asian, Islamic, Western and Ancient Civilizations, and others not included in this list).

Each Prize consists of a certificate, assistance with travel and accommodation expenditures to the IUHPST/DHST Congress in Prague in July 2021 and a waiver of registration fees.

The winner of a prize whose dissertation engages substantially Islamic science and culture (over competitions five (2016-2018) and six (2018-2020), is also awarded the Ihsanoglu Prize funded by the Istanbul Foundation for Research and Education (ISAR).

The Committee is comprised of the DHST Council members and distinguished subject specialists.

Submission: Applications open 1 October 2018 and close 30 November 2018 (22:00, GMT)
Award Committee meetings: January and February 2019
Announcement of prize winners for fifth competition, March 2019
Award ceremony for winners of competitions 5 and 6: July 2021 in Prague.

Language: Submission in all languages is welcome. All dissertations must be accompanied by a detailed summary in English of no more than 20 pages.
Application procedure: Applicants must submit online at: http://dhstweb.org/youngscholarsprize, where they can also find additional procedural and application requirements.

Questions may be addressed to Michael A. Osborne, President, DHST